Monday, March 15, 2010


There was another CD hidden somewhere in the city that did not tell you to come here to find the tracklisting, it just listed the blog. To the person who was wondering what the tracklisting was for this one, the title of it is Faux-Retro-Foe. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. FlyPaper - k-os
2. Hollywood - Codeine Velvet Club
3. Kandy Life - Lady Gaga
4. Coin-Operated Boy - The Dresden Dolls
5. This Charming Man (The Smiths Cover) - Stars
6. Submarine Symphonika - The Submarines
7. Money, Money, Money (ABBA Cover) - E-ROTIC
8. Leaving You - Jill Barber
9. Sentimental Heart - She & Him
10. Lloyd I'm Ready To Be Heartbroken - Camera Obscura
11. Chariot - Page France
12. The Queen of White Lies - The Orion Experience
13. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright (Bob Dylan Cover) (Live Bootleg) - Metric
14. Run For Me (Richard Hawley Cover) - Amy Millan
15. Little Boxes - Malvina Reynolds
16. I Hate Camera - The Bird And The Bee
17. The Blackest Lily - Corinne Bailey Rae
18. Inside And Out (The Bee-Gees Cover) - Feist
19. Trains And Boats And Planes (Dionne Warwick Cover) - Fountains Of Wayne
20. 1812 Overdrive - The Brian Setzer Orchestra

Mixed Message Tracklisting 1

So I suppose that this is a rather important tracklisting to post, since this one didn't actually have a tracklisting included with the CD... Or even a message for that matter. It DID however, tell you to come visit this blog, so congratulations for following the directions and coming here. The tracklisting is:

1. 30 Lives (Up-Up-Down Dance Mix) - The Motion Sick
2. Sold It For A Song - Z.O.N.K.
3. Between The Bars - Elliot Smith
4. Take Me To The Riot - Stars
5. There Goes My Outfit - The Dears
6. This Is Where The Fun Begins - The Whiskey Theory
7. Don't Mess With Me - Temposhark
8. All The Lights Went Out - Marcy Playground
9. Doctor Blind - Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton
10. Lola Stars and Stripes - The Stills
11. You Me and the Bourgeoise - The Submarines
12. Satellite - The Asteroids Galaxy Tour
13. You Went Away - Tegan and Sara
14. Body Of Years - Mother Mother
15. Bleed Like Me - Garbage
16. Ballad of Hugo Chavez - Arkells
17. Airbag - Radiohead
18. Our Time - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
19. Sea Of Love - Cat Power
20. It's All Gonna Break - Broken Social Scene

Friday, March 5, 2010

CD's and Sushi!

It was pointed out to me that Monday is half-off sushi day at Sakana Ya, making for cheap and delicious fun. Seating is much too hard to get on a Monday with a large group, but still, bring some of your friends, bring some CD's, eat some awesome cheap food, and let's get this project started!

If you can, RSVP on the Facebook event, just so we know how many people we have interested in the project!

New Day, Same Plan

So even though a number of us intended to start putting CD's around the city on Saturday, March 13, we realized that the St. Patrick's Day Parade is the same day and that would make it just too hard to get around the city. Some of us will be going out on Monday, March 15 instead. It's not meant to be a large group all going out together, but the more people who start with us, the merrier. Nothing is stopping you from going around before then, but I'll humbly request that you don't, as I feel the more CD's we have placed at once, the more impact we'll have.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Thanks for checking us out!

As you can see in the About The Project bar on the left, Syracuse Mixed Messages is a community-effort to share music with the city of Syracuse. All you have to do is make however many mixed CD's you'd like (The more, the more awesome!) and hide them around the city of Syracuse! (Hide them where people will eventually find them, though. Nobody's gonna be able to listen to a decomposing CD.) There's just a few things I ask you do when creating the CD.

1. Add a tracklist. This is pretty important should the listener actually want to know what they're listening to. They might even want to learn more about the artists you put on the CD. Just something simple will suffice.

i.e. 1. Artist 1 - Song 1
2. Artist 2 - Song 2
3. Artist 3 - Song 3

2. Leave a note. After all, we are Mixed Messages, and not just Mixed CD's. It doesn't have to be something elaborate. Just a simple note about the CD you made, or what your favourite restaurant meal in Syracuse is, or that you have a hamster and its middle name is Edmund, or maybe you just want to give a simple greeting to the recipient of your CD. Just send a thought!

3. Make the CD standout! Nobody wants a random empty-looking CD! Decorate it, doodle all over it, or just let people know that the random CD they found is chock-full of awesome, free music!

4. Please, PLEASE include the name of the project with the CD, and where someone can find information about us. (You know, write the URL for the blog.) Tell them to visit the blog and see if they can find an entry about the CD they found and comment on it, and be sure to invite them to make their own CD's to hide. The more people that know about this project, the more exciting it will be.

5. Send me an e-mail with your track listing. This part isn't as important, but every list I get will be posted up here on the blog. I think it will be interesting to see if people are willing to comment on the CD's they find, or maybe people will just want to know what's on the CD's they didn't find.

6. Find a really awesome hiding place! Just make sure it's somewhere that your CD will eventually be found, considering that's the point of the project.

A group of us will be going out on Saturday, March 13 to hide the first CD's. Anyone is welcome to come. There won't be a group meeting or anything, just get your music out there! If you have any questions about the project, please e-mail me at